h1

Extreme self-care

April 10, 2009

My days are very long right now – often I am not home until well after dinner and I am so wired from the busyness of the day that it takes me a long time to settle and get centered. I am sleeping well and dreaming powerful dreams of houses with no walls, that are situated in the wild woods with a whitewater river at the back edge of the property. Life is good – and I don’t write a lot when I am content!

Today started out with a two hour conversation with a friend and was followed by a couple of hours in the community garden – I planted a row of potatoes, and a small patch of onions, broccoli, and lettuce. This was followed by lunch with my husband and son.

I forget sometimes the protective value of extreme self-care! Sitting at my work desk at 5:00 – on a Friday – I felt content – and happy – as I reflected on the week – and what I have accomplished.

Next week is the marathon of college visits – trying to see what is the best fit for my son – but for now – it is raining and watering in my plants… and all feels well in my world.

Leave a Reply

