h1

Paying attention to what has heart and meaning

March 8, 2009

Like this!

Sometimes I get discouraged listening to the news of how difficult life is for many people. It isn’t that I want to bury my head in the sand and pretend that things are rosy – it is that I think the news catastrophizes and we become addicted to drama and upset and righteous indignation because it feels good to be “mad as hell and not going to take it anymore.” And there is room for that certainly – and a need for it also…

Yet – what do we lose when we forget the good things that are going on all around us? The Great Turning has begun. All around me, in my community, in my relationships, in the places that I  pay attention, are signs that we are yearning for a different way of being in the world. Some of us have been living this way for awhile. Others are now turning away from consumerism out of necessity and still others are afraid of all they are losing and haven’t found a way to feel secure when there are not bountiful external representations of wealth and status.

After reading about SAME – so all my eat, I am feeling that my hope account has had a hefty deposit this morning.

Leave a Reply

