h1

New Moon in Capricorn

December 27, 2008

For the solstice, I unplugged!

For several days I went without turning on the computer. No blogs or blogging. No research or writing. No email. No connection with anyone who wasn’t directly in front of me. I sat with the paradox of missing my online community and the joy of having lots more time to be present in my space. I am not sure how to balance those needs I have to be connected in ways that are not possible without the internet. Yet the computer and the internet are huge black holes of time and energy. And they feed me. And they suck me dry. How do you find that balance?

Solstice Santa brought me art supplies so I have been creating new palletes and color wheels and continuing my Mandala process of evoking myself from the womb of creation. I use this technique of black paper and lighter colored prismacolors. I became intrigued and enchanted with this process after stumbling onto Caterina’s lovely work. I am nowhere near the artist she is, but I have found the process deeply illuminating and helpful for identifying my unique style.

Another joy of internet connectivity is Starweaver’s moon musings and intentions. This is what I am sitting with in this dark moon time. I find his moon practice (full moon work and dark moon work) closely aligns with my own.

How do you honor the dark moon times in your life? How do they differ from the full moon energies in your life?

Questions for this Dark Moon:

How do I keep myself on track?
What old habit do I need to drop?
What new habit do I need to acquire?
What is the relationship between process and goal?


5 comments

  1. I was born during a dark moon so find a special affinity for that portion of the cycle. I do try to unplug and slow my rhythms on a monthly basis – to most mindful complete and begin each lunar cycle. What’s right in front of us will, I suspect, become increasingly important to each of us. I also envision that will become exponentially more “real” than it may have become as we focused on less linear realms through the various powers of disembodied space here online…


  2. I like to unplug, too. At first I feel antsy and weird. And then, wow! Happy Solstice!

    Blessed sea!


  3. Hello Julie,

    Wanted to thank you for your comment on my blog (www.threadsofspiderwoman.blogspot.com)…..I took the liberty of writing about some of your good words. In particular, I remembered the word “Saga”, another word for “Crone”, as well as, literally, a word that once meant (besides “long story”, “She Who Speaks”. Thought you might enjoy that.

    Blessings to you at the New Year!

    Lauren


  4. I have also been musing on the new & full moons – making SoulCollage cards & dream boards. I love the comment on ‘Saga’ that Lauren made –

    blessings as 2009 unfolds.


  5. I haven’t had an internet connection at home since July of last year. At first, I went through withdrawals. And now? I can’t imagine reconnecting again….Of course, I sit in front of a computer all day at work, so if I didn’t – I might change my mind.

    But cruising the web..even in the ‘best’ of pursuits, can be a huge time stealer. Since I stopped using the computer at home, my life has expanded in so many ways…and my connections are in real time.

    If a home computer was all I had, and knowing what I know now, I think I would put a time limit on how much time I spent online. We only have so many waking hours…and while the OnLine Web of connectivity is a blessing, it can also be a distraction.



Leave a Reply

