h1

Living the Questions

October 1, 2008

I just read this post from James Wells and felt immediately drawn to the questions.

What is your unique contribution to a peacemaking culture?

What is your own story of grief, healing, and insight?  How does it relate to what’s happening on our planet at this time?  What does it tell us about healing our planet?

How do you notice that Life is speaking to you?  What is it asking you?

Where is your “temple”?  How does it nourish you?  How do you nourish IT?

How might the tools of compassion, insight, awe, and beauty manifest in your life and work?

The questions are particularly poignant for me right now because of some struggles I am having with living out my spirituality in the world. Sometimes, it is easy to just be who I am – and let the world adjust. But recently I have felt a need to be who I am in a way that allows others a glimpse and doesn’t repel them. For so long that would have felt like giving in and being something other than who I am. And now – I am slowly realizing that this is one more area where I have been developmentally stunted.

In my childhood, the only way to be heard was to be over the top, strident, insistent or hysterical so I tend to assume that just “being” isn’t enough unless it contains some subtle element of stridency. I despair sometimes how wounds of childhood still create templates for me that I follow blindly and right after that thought, I have a flash of gratitude for being wounded in just the right way to bring my gifts out into the world.

I have been thinking a lot about certain seeds that will not germinate unless their seed coat is nicked.

2 comments

  1. I believe one aspect of spirituality is about community and sharing. I am not sure that what you’re doing now is a symptom, maybe it is simply an aspect of wisdom.

    Take care.


  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.



Leave a Reply

