h1

Farmer’s Market in full swing

June 7, 2008

We didn’t make it out of the house until 9:00 AM so I didn’t get my prize cauliflower from my favorite CSA – but I did get some stunningly gorgeous red potatoes and a couple of greenhouse tomatoes. My garden is filled with tender, green, onions and crunchy radishes – spring lettuce mix and squash blossoms in abundance. When I got home – I peeked in at my potatoes – I am growing blue potatoes in one of my home plots – and there was a small, gumball sized new potato that I will leave for a few more weeks to fatten up. Home grown potatoes are so wonderful!

My tomatoes are blossoming, my basil is luscious, baby cukes are surviving the nightly groundhog attacks and in my community garden, my peas are filling out nicely. Not enough to harvest, but enough to munch on while I weed. When my son was small – he called these green candy. They are soooooo sweet!

Abundant sunshine is warming the ground and everything is lush!

Leave a Reply

