h1

Rusalka

December 4, 2007

Rushing to the store, and then another, and grabbing a cup of coffee (with caffeine!) I flipped the radio on to hear the most otherwordly sound of women lamenting their dead. WOW!

I sat in the parking lot – unable to move – listening to the stories of these women from the Ukraine who are keeping the old rituals alive. Mariana Sadovska is a song catcher traveling to the villages to listen and to keep the songs alive.

You can hear a tribute to their songs sung by Kitka on Rock Paper Scissors. I didn’t have time to listen to the entire program – too many errands and needing to be at an appointment soon – but their music stuck in my head – so I googled until I found them.

The imagery of slavic women singing the old songs and carrying the traditions forward and the sound of american women spontaneously joining in the lamenting reminded me of my own commitment to living mythically.

Listen to the elders sing to you, if you dare…

One comment

  1. Oooohhhh, I can’t wait to listen to these and learn about the women and the songs (have to run out the door in a moment, but will peruse later). Thanks for sharing about them!
    Stella



Leave a Reply

