h1

Cloud Talk and Male Rain

July 28, 2007

The air is still and thick this morning and though the sun is shining, it isn’t one of those “impossibly blue” days where the light is clear. Yesterday as I was making jam and getting ready to can, the sky began to rumble, I got the jam in the canner before the worst of the storm hit. Hail, wind, driving rain, loud cracks of thunder, and bright flashes. My german shepherd girl dog cowered at my feet. She can face down a mature ground hog and rid my garden of this invader (yes – now she has wiped out the whole family – and I have mixed feelings about that) but a little thunder and she quakes. We tried to tell her how heroic and brave it was to rescue the family garden from this voracious marauder, but she didn’t believe us. So we let her lay at our feet as we watched the storm.

After it was over, I found a vole who had been swept away from a flood of rain from his tunnel. Several of my cherry tomatoes were on the ground having been knocked off the vine. Bits of wisteria leaves and blossoms littered the deck under the pergola, and the grateful plants in my yard all opened their roots to the moisture and drank deeply.

One comment

  1. Huzzah! We got some rain, too, not as dramatic as your storm.

    My dog hides behind the toilet and shivers during storms. He knows how to take care of himself and I know there’s nothing I can do or say to make him feel safe.

    Happy full moon, Julie!



Leave a Reply

