h1

Letting Beauty and Comfort into my Heart Space

July 23, 2007

A few years ago at First Night, I discovered an amazing male a capella group – Sons of the Day. I am a sucker for male vocal harmony and not that wild about “church” music but I bought their CD because I also like to support people who are living their dreams. I just about wore that CD out the first few months and hadn’t listened to it in a long time. Today as I was searching for something else, I ran across it, and decided to give it a listen.

One of the songs on this CD that I have loved for years is You are the New Day. Listening to that and some of the other songs filled my heart with beauty and comfort. Sometimes I forget the healing power of music . Today I remembered.

This evening as I checked out Dooce’s Chuck picture of the day –  I noticed this link to The Sad Song Video on her sidebar. Holy smokes this is one talented man! The imagery and music just swept me up and carried me away. I am grateful to the connections that I have in blogland and the feeling of community it creates. That video was just what I needed this evening to bolster my sagging and flagging spirits tonight.

I send gratitude and wild blessings to my crone-age friends for their support in these last few difficult weeks – Reya, Acey, and Judy – your comfort and support means more than you will ever know. For the first time ever, I am basking in the glow of a wisdom fire where I didn’t have to gather all the kindling, get it started, tend it, keep it going. It is such a soft feeling to be able to curl up next to someone else’s fire and feel that I am cared for with tenderness and compassion – my own circle of stones.

Leave a Reply

