h1

Zucchini Relish

July 8, 2007

I bought the most beautiful deep sunburst yellow squash yesterday! Then I went back to the organic CSA and bought a green black zucchini and a cocozelle with the idea of making my favorite zucchini relish. I normally wait until the peppers are red so that the relish has flecks of  red scattered throughout. But I hoped the yellow of the squash would be pretty enough and I have lots of green peppers on the plants right now. I made ten half pints and they are lovely. They will hold me over until the red peppers get ripe.

I also bought some feta, 2 pounds of yukon gold potatoes, a beautiful full head of red cabbage, some fresh spring garlic and onions, and some heirloom tomatoes – cherokee purple – wow! they are good!

With my son at camp and the garden and the farmer’s market – we hardly set foot in the grocery store!

Leave a Reply

