h1

Local Foods

June 18, 2007

Tonight a stir fry with local vegetables. Zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower, green onions, carrots, and more served over long grain brown rice.

This morning I admit I had pesto for breakfast! I opened the fridge, the cupboard… staring… bored… I wandered outside saw the basil beginning to flower and knew there was that ripe tomato on the counter and the rosemary potato bread asking to be sliced. Into the processor went basil, olive oil, garlic, more garlic, garlic, more garlic, salt and pepper, and a ripe tomato. Smeared on rosemary potato bread it made a vivid green breakfast! yay!

The long days of summer are meant to be savored!

2 comments

  1. I made an attempt to telephone Z. this afternoon, and when there was no reply I realized he must be at camp! He’ll have to wait for my rants on the new White Stripes album, I s’pose.


  2. Yum!! I’m on the lookout for squash blossoms so I can stuff them with cheese and fresh basil then pan saute them. It’s an excellent breakfast, almost as good as pesto!



Leave a Reply

