h1

Whole Foods

March 30, 2007

In California I always like to visit Trader Joe’s. They have a fabulous wine selection, delicious cheeses, interesting baked goods, and wonderful triple ginger cookies. The produce section though – – that’s where I stand and drool. It makes me fantasize about gardening somewhere with a longer growing season and frost free.

Last night it was 24 degrees and that is really cold if you are a tender seedling! I pulled in everyone late yesterday afternoon. We did a triage – frost hardy but young and tender went into the greenhouse with the heater. Frost hardy but been outside for a few weeks went into the unheated greenhouse. Tender and tropical came into the house.

This afternoon as I hopped online to do a bit of banking – did you know you can scan a check and upload it and deposit it in your checking account? Well I was clicking around and saw this link to an article about Whole Foods on Kim’s furious spinner blog. I love whole foods – and try to get there about four times per year.

It is easy to be negative and cynical about the state of the world right now – but as part of my practice – I am paying attention to what has heart and meaning. This statement below has heart and meaning for me.

Late last year, in a letter to Whole Foods’ 43,000 staff, Mackey announced: “I am now 53 years old and I have reached a place in my life where I no longer want to work for money, but simply for the joy of the work itself and to better answer the call to service that I feel so clearly in my own heart.” As of January 2007 he said he would reduce his own salary to $1, donate his stock options to the company’s charitable foundations, and set up a $100,000 fund for team members with emergencies. The letter was signed: “With much love”.

Is he perfect? Am I? Did he start something that went in a different direction than he intended? Is he trying to balance change and resistance to change? yes! Some day I may join the rant against Whole Foods – but I am not there yet. Instead I am putting my energy behind the Friendly City Food Coop – so that I won’t have to drive over the Blue Ridge to shop at Whole Foods. I will however be grateful to Whole Foods for supplying organic grains and staples when they were scarce on my side of the mountain.

Leave a Reply

