h1

Shamanic Journeying and Hypnobirthing

March 28, 2007

I am honored to serve as a birth companion for a friend and her husband. They already have a delightful young son and daughter and have also been foster parents. I often think how the world benefits from loving parents who understand themselves and their roles. I was reminded of this yesterday as we spent the day together and into the evening as I joined them for a hypnobirthing class.

So much of the process and imagery in hypnobirthing reminds me of theĀ  process and imagery of journeying. The breathwork has some similarities (and of course some differences!). I love the imagery of breathing down the baby. Instead of PUSH! ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX SEVEN EIGHT NINE TEN! There is a series of oxygenating breaths – and an opening and releasing to let our wombs relax. I really could have benefited from this as a birthing mom.

I am excited about the upcoming full moon energies and their potential to invite this baby into the light!

Leave a Reply

