h1

The muse from the lake…

November 2, 2006

I am inviting all the muses of my life to sit in the same room, at my council table. The conversations surprise me. I never did this before because I assumed there was only ONE muse and when she was off gallivanting across the seas – I felt bereft. Now I realize I have access to multiple muses. One of them is the Lady in the Lake. As I work with her I am reminded of this…

“…one night
there’s a heartbeat at the door.
Outside, a woman in the fog,
with hair of twigs and a dress of weed,
dripping green lake water.
She says, ‘I am you,
and I have traveled a long distance.
Come with me, there is something I must show you…’
She turns to go, her cloak falls open,
Suddenly, golden light… everywhere, golden light…”
“Woman Who Lives Under the Lake”,
from C.P.Estes,
Rowing Songs for the Night Sea Journey,

3 comments

  1. That moment of self insight that Estes describes so briliantly is joyous – the golden light warming every part of one’s being.


  2. Does anyone know where I can find a copy of Rowing Songs for the Night Sea Journey by CPE? Thanks.


  3. It was privately published. I have not found a copy in any library or bookstore, but occasionally I find a poem in another publication. I think that is where this one came from.



Leave a Reply

