h1

Isn’t she lovely?

October 2, 2006


A crazy weekend but heaven on earth if you are a teenage boy. XC practice on Friday followed immediately by a home football game. Home by 10:00 PM and back to school by 7:00 AM for a XC invitational. Home by 5:00 PM into the shower and out. Host a small homecoming dinner party. Off to the dance. Home by midnight.

I watch this boy of mine growing into a fine young man. A man with loyal friends, a variety of interests, balanced between sports and school, yet still able to act like a big silly kid at times.

“What usually has the strongest psychic effect on the child is the
life which the parents… have not lived.” Carl Jung

When I first heard those words and explored that concept, I was very harsh on myself – for all the ways that I had unconsciously lived through my child. But as I have continued to do the work of mending myself I realize that in parenting him from a place of wisdom I am also mending the wounded teenage parts of me.

It is time to go back and re-read some James Hollis. His insistence that we finally, really grow up is making me a better parent.

One comment

  1. Thank you! I did dance the night away free of shoes and I agree, it was pretty cool how we matched.

    And thank you again for my last non-vegetarian meal! It was wonderful. You are an amazing cook.

    It was a pleasure meeting you as well. You are such a pleasant person! I felt right at home.
    :]

    (P.S. Your house is beautiful!!)



Leave a Reply

