h1

Seeds and Blossoms

September 2, 2006

There is so much imagery of food, cooking, harvesting, hunting, feeding, and being fed in my inner work right now. I struggle so much with the effort it takes to feed those who are “sort of” hungry for a life of soul.

I am fed by those that are starving for a life of soul – who come to my table and devour everything with their hands – licking their fingers – pushing back and belching – sitting around the fire as the flames go to embers – and then – sleeping – and sharing dreams in the morning before they set off on the hunt – bringing wild herbs and greens and tasty forest treats to add to the cauldron – the smell is so different than my familiar stews and soups – and it is intoxicating and I am grateful for my fellow seekers of soul…

And I despair – how will the hungry beggars be fed?

I will not die an unlived life.

I will not live in fear
of falling or catching fire.
I choose to inhabit my days,
to allow my living to open me,
to make me less afraid,
to loosen my heart
until it becomes a wing,
a torch, a promise.
I choose to risk my significance,
to live so that which came to me as seed
goes to the next as blossom,
and that which came to me as blossom,
goes on as fruit.

Dawna Markova

Leave a Reply

