h1

Full Moon Rituals

March 14, 2006

For years I have followed the cycles of the moon – going out at dawn or dusk to feel the moonlight on my face. For a long time – I used to howl at the moon – and my dear, sweet, son would join me until all the dogs of the neighborhood were barking with us.

But I am changing and wanting to be more intentional.

I don’t want to copy someone else’s ritual.

Although I am earth centered in my beliefs I am not a druid, or a pagan, or a white witch. I am not Native American. I do not belong to an organized religion. Even the UU church is too strict for me.

In 1995 – on my first pilgrimage to Chaco Canyon, New Mexico I became aware of the effects of the equinox and solstice on people who lived in rhythm with the stars and celestial bodies. I found a wonderful book – Living the Sky – the Cosmos of the American Indian and became fascinated with their level of sophistication of building kivas and other structures designed to capture significant celestial events.

But I have always struggled with “self-designed” ceremony.

Our family is moving towards celebrating the wheel of life – the two solstices, the two equinoxes, and the four half-way points. This feels more significant to me than Christmas (winter solstice) Easter (vernal equinox) etc.

I will let this ritual develop organically.

I am weaving together the idea of the triple goddess (maiden, mother, crone) and also the 9 phases of the moon:

  • New (also called the Dark Moon) – not visible
  • Waxing Crescent
  • First Quarter – commonly called a “half moon”
  • Waxing Gibbous
  • Full – we can see the entire illuminated portion of the moon
  • Waning Gibbous
  • Third Quarter – another “half moon”, but the illuminated part is opposite of the First Quarter
  • Waning Crescent
  • New – back to the beginning

But nothing solid yet…

On the full moon tomorrow – I will go outside – and if the moon is visible, stand in her light and if she is hidden behind clouds – I will face the general direction where she rises at this time of year.

I will spend several minutes breathing – listening – attuning my senses to the night – and when I am ready – I will welcome her and ask her to shine down on those in need.

I will begin by asking for what I need. My ability to give is limited by my ability to receive.

Blessed Moon Mother – please help me be receptive to the lessons and revelations of my Sweet Darkness Workshop. Remind me to stand in my truth – but help me have an undefended heart. Wash away bitterness, defensiveness, and excuses – I don’t need them. Help me flow and release my need to control and know the answers. Help me accept positive regard without deflecting or denying it.

Then I will ask for specific blessings for my family and friends and others in my life.

~~*~~*~~*~~*~~*~~
I will be gone for awhile – away at an Intensive – and perhaps quiet for a bit after that…

Leave a Reply

