h1

Music Transports Me

March 9, 2006

1980 – Driving in a Toyota Corolla with no AC, windows down, miles of prairie in all directions and strange sounds coming out of the radio…nothing like the surfer songs of Doheny beach… nothing like the mariachi music that greeted visitors to Avalon Bay…nothing like the “classical music hour” sponsored by the Southern California Gas Company…and all I knew was that I leaving home…and everything was unfamiliar and should have been exciting – but I was scared.

I am thankful that I didn’t know then that my short stay in Virginia would stretch to 26 years. But how quickly music can transport me to the plaza in Santa Fe, to Seattle’s Pike Place Market, to the Anaheim of my childhood, to any place I have ever loved.

Leave a Reply

