h1

Listening to our Ancestors

February 10, 2006

Up at dawn Thursday morning, driving into the sun to arrive at the Metro Station. Metro to L’Enfant Plaza and over to the NMAI – National Museum of the American Indian. The wind is gusting and the temperature cannot get above freezing and then we are in the lee of the massive structure and it is quiet and warm.

The special exhibit is:
Listening to Our Ancestors: The Art of Native Life Along the North Pacific Coast

Ceremonial cloaks, masks, jewelry, hunting and fishing implements, the objects of everyday life are exquisite and beautiful.

I long to place my body in the center of the circle downstairs and look up through several stories to see the sky. But in these post 9/11 days in Washington, D.C. I am afraid. So I don’t.

Now that I have seen the exhibits, I need to go back when I can spend more time.

Leave a Reply

