h1

Taking my place in the world

January 22, 2006

After three years of solitude, I am coming slowly back into the world. And in that desire to be fully present, to be engaged, to be awake, once again I am encountering the world’s fierce demands of me to capitulate, to “make nice,” to not offend, to not ask the hard questions, to soften my words so they won’t make someone uncomfortable. I am seeking the balance between speaking my truth and holding the world in “positive regard.” It is a knife’s edge.

Speaking and writing poetry
I unsheathed the sharp edge
of experience that led me here.No one told me
it could not be put away.
I was told once, only,
in a whisper,
‘The blade is so sharp-
It cuts things together
-not apart.’

This is no comfort.
My future is full of blood
from being blindfold
hands outstretched,
feeling a way along its firm edge.

David Whyte
“No one told me”
From Fire in the Earth

What will be cut together I wonder?

Leave a Reply

